GNCC Woods

ATV - GNCC Woods Oct 17 - Oct 18, 2015 | St Clairsville, OH Results

N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha’s Walker Fowler raced his YFZ450R to victory in the 12th round of the 2014 GNCC XC1 Pro ATV class at Powerline Park in St. Clairsville, Ohio on Saturday, Oct. 4. Fowler’s sixth win of the season advances the young rider into a tie for the points lead in the premier ATV off-road racing series with just one round left to go. Fowler will go into the finale, the “Ironman” event in Crawfordsville, Ind., racing for the title against multi-time champion Chris Borich. Also on Saturday, a second-place finish for YFZ450R-mounted Cole Richardson in XC2 Pro Am ties him for the points lead with rival Marshal Goings heading into the last round.

With the championship on the line, the gloves are most definitely off in the XC1 Pro class at this point. In the Saturday afternoon race, Fowler and rival Borich overtook early leader Brent Sturdivant on the first of four laps, then checked out ahead of the field, sparring with each other and forging a lead of over two minutes by the halfway mark. At this point though, the muddy conditions began taking a toll on Borich, who was forced to remove his goggles. Naturally this benefited Fowler tremendously, with the Yamaha rider speeding away to a nearly 2-½ minute win. “I’ve had so much fun this season,” Fowler said. “I’m having the best races of my life and it’s coming at the right time. We’re riding this train all the way to Ironman!”

The XC2 Pro Am class was no less exciting. After dispatching rivals Fred Marley and Martin Christofferson, Richardson and Goings engaged in a heated battle for the lead all race long. The YFZ450R rider held the advantage as the pair came into the final corners after over two hours of racing, but unfortunately Fowler was held up briefly behind a lapped rider, with the delay just enough for Goings to slip past for a narrow 0.578-second margin of victory. “Walker and Cole and their N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha YFZ450Rs have proven to everyone that they are legit championship contenders,” said Donnie Luce, Yamaha ATV racing coordinator. “The season finale at Crawfordsville is going to be exciting!”

 XC1 Pro Class
 1 Walker Fowler - YAM   
 2 Chris Borich   
 3 Adam Mcgill   
 4 Jarrod McClure   
 5 Jay Shadron - YAM   
 6 Brycen Neal   
 7 Kevin Yoho - YAM   
 8 Braden Henthorn   
 9 Joshua Merritt - YAM   
 10 Brent Sturdivant   
 1  Walker Fowler - YAM 288 
 2  Chris Borich 285 
 3  Adam Mcgill 243 
 4  Jarrod McClure 205 
 5  Chris Bithell 185 
 6  Brycen Neal 161 
 7  Brian Hulsey - YAM 153 
 8  Jay Shadron - YAM 148 
 9  Joshua Merritt - YAM 138 
 10  Braden Henthorn 10 

<-- Back