ShareFacebook MySpace Google Twitter

ATV - GNC MX June 14, 2014 | Nashport, OH Results

Chad Wienen of Wienen Motorsports claimed his third consecutive overall win in the AMA Pro ATV series in Walnut, Ill. on Saturday, May 25. He did it by turning in outstanding 1-3 moto performances, and the result boosted his lead in the championship to 33 points over teammate Thomas Brown. Also riding a YFZ450R, Brown captured fourth overall with 3-4 moto finishes, and now lies second in points with five of 10 rounds completed in the 2013 season. Next up is round six at Danville, Va. on June 8-9.

Wienen was dialed in and on the gas all weekend, starting with qualifying practice – where setting the quickest time gave him prime gate pick for the first moto. Then in the first of two 13-lap races, he got away inside the top five before vaulting into the lead on the third lap. Meanwhile, although teammate Brown started the moto bunched inside the top 10, he battled hard all race long to finally claim third at the checkers. “I had a bad start to the moto and really had to work hard to move up through the field,” Brown said afterwards.

The rain rolled in before the start of the second moto, and with the slippery track conditions that ensued, things didn’t go quite as smoothly for Wienen at the start. Nonetheless, he completed the first lap in third place behind rivals John Natalie and Josh Creamer, then quickly advanced to second. Wienen remained there until spinning on the slick dirt with just a couple of laps remaining, but his eventual third-place finish was still enough to earn him the overall win. Brown had a remarkably similar second moto, once again starting inside the top 10 and then putting on a solid drive to finish fourth. “I’m pumped on another overall and extending my points lead!” Wienen said.

 Pro Class
 1 Chad Wienen - YAM   
 2 John Natalie   
 3 Josh Creamer   
 4 Thomas Brown - YAM   
 5 Joe Byrd   
 6 Josh Upperman   
 7 Nick Denoble   
 8 Jeffrey Rastrelli   
 9 Casey  Martin   
 10 Joel Hetrick   
 1  Chad Wienen - YAM 221 
 2  Thomas Brown - YAM 188 
 3  Josh Creamer 185 
 4  Joel Hetrick 168 
 5  John Natalie 167 
 6  Josh Upperman 156 
 7  Joe Byrd 132 
 8  Nick Denoble 118 
 9  Jeffrey Rastrelli 115 
 10  Casey  Martin 89 

<-- Back