AMA Supercross May 2, 2015 | Las Vegas, NV Results

The final AMA Supercross event of the year brought a podium finish for’s Weston Peick in the 450SX class.

Race by race, in his first season riding for JGR, Peick has established himself as a contender in the premier 450SX class. In Las Vegas he qualified fourth quickest before earning a podium in his heat race behind rivals Eli Tomac and Chad Reed. Teammate Justin Barcia likewise finished third in his heat race. Peick then made an excellent start inside the top three in the 20-lap main event behind series champion Ryan Dungey and Eli Tomac. However a brief tip-over left Peick hounded by Reed for much of the event, testing the Yamaha rider’s speed and focus. But the bLU cRU rider held on beautifully, taking home his second career AMA 450 Supercross podium in the process. Despite missing four races with a broken foot early in the season, the podium finish also boosted Peick to a top-10 finish in points.

 450 Class Results
 1 Ryan Dungey   
 2 Eli Tomac   
 3 Weston Peick - YAM   
 4 Cole Seely   
 5 Josh Grant   
 6 Blake Baggett   
 7 Chad Reed   
 8 Justin Barcia - YAM   
 9 Justin Brayton   
 10 Broc Tickle   
 1  Ryan Dungey 390 
 2  Eli Tomac 305 
 3  Cole Seely 277 
 4  Chad Reed 226 
 5  Blake Baggett 223 
 6  Trey Canard 204 
 7  Jason Anderson 200 
 8  Broc Tickle 194 
 9  Andrew Short 180 
 10  Weston Peick - YAM 160 

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin, who finished third in the 250SX East standings, likewise sat out the shootout after injuring a hand during training prior to the event. Both are expected to be ready for the 2015 AMA Motocross season kickoff in Sacramento, Calif. on Saturday, May 16.

Anthony Rodriguez finishing third in the 250SX East heat and River/Yamaha’s Alex Martin winning the 250SX East/West LCQ.

 250 Class Results East
 1 Marvin Musquin   
 2 RJ  Hampshire   
 3 Anthony Rodriguez - YAM   
 4 Mitchell Oldenburg   
 5 Kyle Peters   
 6 Justin  Starling   
 7 Gannon Audette   
 8 Preston Mull - YAM   
 9 A J Catanzaro   
 10 Luke Renzland - YAM   
 1  Marvin Musquin 194 
 2  Justin Bogle 171 
 3  Jeremy Martin - YAM 143 
 4  Joey Savatgy 133 
 5  RJ  Hampshire 100 
 6  Anthony Rodriguez - YAM 98 
 7  Kyle Peters 91 
 8  Jimmy  Decotis 87 
 9  Kyle Cunningham - YAM 72 
 10  Martin Davalos 63 

Cooper Webb missed the finale after spraining an ankle in practice, but fortunately the bLU cRU rider had already locked up the 2015 250 Supercross West championship in April.

With both Webb and Martin sitting out the Las Vegas event, Plessinger was the quickest YZ250F rider in practice, turning in the seventh fastest qualifying time. He then finished sixth in the 250SX West heat race.

Neither Plessinger nor Martin made good starts in the 15-lap final, with both riders finishing the first lap outside the top 10. Undeterred, they both immediately started moving toward the front, with Plessinger advancing all the way up to fourth with three laps left to go and Martin cracking into the top five on the penultimate lap.

 250 Class Results West
 1 Malcolm Stewart   
 2 Zack Osborne   
 3 Zachary Bell   
 4 Josh Hansen   
 5 Shane Mcelrath   
 6 Aaron Plessinger - YAM   
 7 Cole Martinez - YAM   
 8 Scott Champion   
 9 Justin Hill   
 10 Ryan  Breece - YAM   
 1  Cooper Webb - YAM 186 
 2  Shane Mcelrath 124 
 3  Zack Osborne 117 
 4  Justin Hill 116 
 5  Aaron Plessinger - YAM 113 
 6  Alex Martin - YAM 111 
 7  Malcolm Stewart 107 
 8  Jessy Nelson 106 
 9  Tyler Bowers 105 
 10  Josh Hansen 91 

Rookie of the Year honors and a fourth-place finish for Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger in the 250SX East/West shootout at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev. on Saturday night, May 2.

 Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout
 1 Marvin Musquin   
 2 Malcolm Stewart   
 3 Matthew  Bisceglia   
 4 Aaron Plessinger - YAM   
 5 Alex Martin - YAM   
 6 Zack Osborne   
 7 RJ  Hampshire   
 8 Cole Martinez - YAM   
 9 Shane Mcelrath   
 10 Kyle Peters   

<-- Back