AMA Supercross January 17, 2015 | Anaheim, CA Results

In the premier 450SX class,’s Justin Barcia got off to a great start, setting the fastest qualifying time and transferring to the main through the first semi. Though a slow start delayed him in the final, Barcia ultimately finished fourth – a credible result in what proved to be a chaotic race. Unfortunately teammate Weston Peick sat out the event due to a foot injury suffered at Phoenix the previous week.

The 450 race was nearly as exciting. Barcia’s semi finish positioned him toward the inside of the starting gate, and predictably the YZ450F rider found himself blocked when the pack thundered into the first turn, which he rounded back in 17th place. From there on, the 20-lap event became a long process of working forward for Barcia. He raced up to eighth on the first lap, broke into the top five by lap six, then into fourth on lap eight after Trey Canard and Chad Reed collided. Riding well, Barcia worked hard to close on third-place Eli Tomac, and was one of only a few riders clearing a quad jump for most of the race. However Tomac was also clearing the quad, and so after a great charge through the pack Barcia ultimately missed the podium. But it was his best result of the season and a clear improvement over the last two weeks. Barcia now lies sixth in the standings, tied in points with Trey Canard.

 450 Class Results
 1 Ken Roczen   
 2 Ryan Dungey   
 3 Eli Tomac   
 4 Justin Barcia - YAM   
 5 Broc Tickle   
 6 Cole Seely   
 7 Jason Anderson   
 8 Dean Wilson   
 9 David Millsaps   
 10 Blake Baggett   
 Standings after Round 3 of 17
 1  Ken Roczen 72 
 2  Ryan Dungey 60 
 3  Jason Anderson 51 
 4  Eli Tomac 46 
 5  Justin Barcia - YAM 43 
 6  Trey Canard 43 
 7  Broc Tickle 38 
 8  Weston Peick - YAM 32 
 9  Andrew Short 31 
 10  David Millsaps 30 

In a dramatic come-from-behind ride, Cooper Webb scored his second consecutive win in the AMA 250 Supercross West class aboard his Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha YZ250F at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. on Saturday night, Jan. 17. In doing so, the bLU cRU racer takes over the points lead – and the prestigious red number plate – after three of eight rounds. He was also the second fastest qualifier, won his heat race, and set the fastest lap of the 250 final, making it nearly a faultless night.

After establishing himself as one of the fastest riders, Webb went into the 15-lap 250 final as a strong favorite. But the rush to the first turn didn’t go his way and he found himself mired outside the top 10, a tough way to start any event – especially since points leader Jessy Nelson was way ahead. But applying focus and determination that belies Webb’s 19 years, he began slicing through the pack, breaking into the top five on the seventh lap. By the next lap, only Justin Hill separated Webb and leader Tyler Bowers. Once Webb got past Hill, there were five laps remaining and five seconds still to make up. Go time. Incredibly, Webb closed the gap by a second a lap, caught Bowers halfway through the final lap and executed a vigorous inside pass to take the lead, which he held to the flag. “When I got into second I realized I had a shot at the win,” Webb said. “On the last lap I had to just put it in there, so I did and I was able to get by."

 250 Class Results
 1 Cooper Webb - YAM   
 2 Tyler Bowers   
 3 Justin Hill   
 4 Zack Osborne   
 5 Malcolm Stewart   
 6 Jessy Nelson   
 7 Josh Hansen   
 8 Alex Martin - YAM   
 9 Tommy Hahn   
 10 Shane Mcelrath   
 West Coast Standings after Round 3 of 8
 1  Cooper Webb - YAM 64 
 2  Jessy Nelson 60 
 3  Tyler Bowers 60 
 4  Zack Osborne 54 
 5  Justin Hill 53 
 6  Aaron Plessinger - YAM 40 
 7  Shane Mcelrath 39 
 8  Malcolm Stewart 39 
 9  Josh Hansen 34 
 10  Tommy Hahn 30 

<-- Back