ShareFacebook MySpace Google Twitter

AMA Supercross January 10, 2015 | Phoenix, AZ Results

Aboard his new 2014 YZ450F, Toyota Yamaha JGR MX Team’s Justin Brayton led most of the AMA Supercross main event at Chase Field in Phoenix, Ariz. before finishing a close second to defending champion Ryan Villopoto on Saturday night, Jan. 11. The bLU cRU rider tied his best-ever finish in the premier class as he grabbed the lead almost immediately, led 13 of 20 laps, and then challenged Villopoto up until the last corner.

With several past champions in the field, the 450 class was as stacked as any in recent history. After finishing third in his heat, Brayton shot into the lead of the main event after two corners, building up a sizable gap as battles waged behind him. This early lead slowly evaporated though, as first Justin Barcia and then Villopoto advanced. He was able to defend against Barcia, but Villopoto’s repeated pass attempts eventually succeeded. Brayton didn’t give up though. Riding with tremendous heart, he kept Villopoto in sight, closed the gap on the final lap, and then re-attacked before the finish, missing his first Supercross win by just 1.03 seconds. “This feels so good!” Brayton said afterwards. “The new Yamaha is unbelievable. We did our homework this year, and it’s paying off.” Yamaha Supercross team manager Jim Perry added, “It was a great night of racing in both classes, and I’m glad to see the new YZs showing promise.”

 450 Class Results
 1 Ryan Villopoto   
 2 Justin Brayton - YAM   
 3 Ryan Dungey   
 4 James Stewart   
 5 Justin Barcia   
 6 Ken Roczen   
 7 Andrew Short   
 8 Broc Tickle   
 9 Chad Reed   
 10 Will Hahn   
 1  Ryan Villopoto 43 
 2  Ryan Dungey 42 
 3  Ken Roczen 40 
 4  Justin Brayton - YAM 37 
 5  Chad Reed 32 
 6  Justin Barcia 32 
 7  Broc Tickle 26 
 8  Andrew Short 26 
 9  James Stewart 22 
 10  Will Hahn 21 

Yamalube/Star Racing rookie Cooper Webb thrilled the huge crowd of 49,834 in the 250 Supercross West Region event, taking the holeshot on his new 2014 YZ250F before making a couple of mistakes and finishing sixth.

In the 250 class, Webb put in the sixth-fastest qualifying practice time, and then transferred straight to the main event with a third-place finish in his heat race. When the gate dropped for the 15-lap final, he shot his YZ into the lead exiting the first turn and built up a small gap as the pack fought behind him. Soon though, the bLU cRU rider was challenged by eventual winner Jason Anderson and Cole Seely and put a wheel off the track, losing several positions in the process. But the former amateur national champion rebounded, holding down fifth place before falling on the seventh lap. He then rallied once again, climbing back on his bike and advancing to sixth by the finish.

 250 Class Results
 1 Jason Anderson   
 2 Cole Seely   
 3 Zack Osborne   
 4 Dean Wilson   
 5 Malcolm Stewart   
 6 Cooper Webb - YAM   
 7 Dean Ferris   
 8 Justin Hill   
 9 Jessy Nelson   
 10 Cole Martinez   
 1  Jason Anderson 50 
 2  Cole Seely 44 
 3  Zack Osborne 40 
 4  Dean Wilson 36 
 5  Cooper Webb - YAM 31 
 6  Malcolm Stewart 29 
 7  Justin Hill 28 
 8  Jessy Nelson 24 
 9  Dean Ferris 21 
 10  Darryn Durham 21 

<-- Back